ProLaxShop

What would you rule?

Come here to see the mens lacrosse rules, and discuss things concerning rules. ie. wrong or right ref judgements?

Moderator: Moderators

Forum rules
Before posting on the forum please ensure you read the Board Wide Rules

A full list of men's rules can be found here
User avatar
bobmac
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2009 12:31 pm
gender: Male

What would you rule?

Postby bobmac Fri Sep 26, 2014 5:37 am

In fighting for ground ball White player legally takes out Blue player who ends up lying on ground. White player is then legally pushed off ball by another Blue player. As White goes back he falls over Blue player who is on ground.

White player claims he was tripped. Your call?
User avatar
whopead
Posts: 1332
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 5:34 pm
gender: Male

Re: What would you rule?

Postby whopead Fri Sep 26, 2014 4:07 pm

Trip. As the intent or lack there of is irrelevant
Nottingham LC
www.nottslax.co.uk
User avatar
Mr.Stanford
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3957
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 10:54 am
gender: Male
Location: South Wales
Contact:

Re: What would you rule?

Postby Mr.Stanford Fri Sep 26, 2014 11:44 pm

I'd like to hear if a referee would actually call it that way in the heat of battle. Sure if the guy on the ground makes a movement to trip then of course it is. But if he's just lying there minding his own business then surely not.
Hitchin

Tros ryddid gollasant eu gwaed
User avatar
Blind Zebra
Posts: 426
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 1:29 pm
gender: Male
Location: Up with play.

Re: What would you rule?

Postby Blind Zebra Mon Sep 29, 2014 8:50 am

The rule actually says that a player shall not intentionally trip.........

So no intent no foul.

BeeZee.
In glorious Black & White at a pitch near you.
User avatar
jsgi
Posts: 534
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 10:30 am
gender: Male
Contact:

Re: What would you rule?

Postby jsgi Mon Sep 29, 2014 1:24 pm

Agree with BeeZee you can't call a personal foul if there was no deliberate movement to trip the second player.

You could call interference or even a hold if you thought that there was a disadvantage to one team. If things were getting a bit messy you might even be on the look out for a technical like this to get the ball back into the stick.
--------------------------------------------------
Blues #19

"What we have got here is failure to communicate"

Return to “Mens Lacrosse Rules”

Monster Mesh

Monster Mesh

Login · Register