Page 1 of 1

What would you rule?

Posted: Fri Sep 26, 2014 5:37 am
by bobmac
In fighting for ground ball White player legally takes out Blue player who ends up lying on ground. White player is then legally pushed off ball by another Blue player. As White goes back he falls over Blue player who is on ground.

White player claims he was tripped. Your call?

Re: What would you rule?

Posted: Fri Sep 26, 2014 4:07 pm
by whopead
Trip. As the intent or lack there of is irrelevant

Re: What would you rule?

Posted: Fri Sep 26, 2014 11:44 pm
by Mr.Stanford
I'd like to hear if a referee would actually call it that way in the heat of battle. Sure if the guy on the ground makes a movement to trip then of course it is. But if he's just lying there minding his own business then surely not.

Re: What would you rule?

Posted: Mon Sep 29, 2014 8:50 am
by Blind Zebra
The rule actually says that a player shall not intentionally trip.........

So no intent no foul.

BeeZee.

Re: What would you rule?

Posted: Mon Sep 29, 2014 1:24 pm
by jsgi
Agree with BeeZee you can't call a personal foul if there was no deliberate movement to trip the second player.

You could call interference or even a hold if you thought that there was a disadvantage to one team. If things were getting a bit messy you might even be on the look out for a technical like this to get the ball back into the stick.