ProLaxShop

Defence gloves

Advice for all the Defenders? Tips from the coaches. Advice from players.

Moderator: Moderators

Forum rules
Before posting on the forum please ensure you read the Board Wide Rules
'predator'

Defence gloves

Postby 'predator' Tue Jan 25, 2011 12:08 pm

Good morrow to you all.

A bit of background first.
I have been playing D for a West 2 team for just over a 18 months now, and obviously to start I only bought gloves that were in my price range (warrior adrenaline x). As my confidence has grown, so has my strength and ability. I have however, noticed that when I go in for those extra hard checks that the space between the thumb and 1st finger (i think its the Fascia over adductor pollicis muscle???) hurts considerably. Call me wuss or whatever, but I would much rather complain and do something about it, than suffer a broken thumb!

Do you guys know of a glove that offers extra protection for the palm (particularly the area I referred to)? Price isnt an issue, as I will be continuing with the sport after university, and for many years to come.

Thanks in advance,
Predator.
#86 Aberystwyth University 2009 -
Aico

Re: Defence gloves

Postby Aico Tue Jan 25, 2011 2:33 pm

I don't think any gloves have protection on the inside of the glove. Maybe you are just gripping the shaft wrong.
Mort rotu

Postby Mort rotu Tue Jan 25, 2011 4:19 pm

Aico wrote:I don't think any gloves have protection on the inside of the glove. Maybe you are just gripping the shaft wrong.

seconded, however I've never used adrenaline's so have no idea what the palms are like. If they are just mesh then I can see the corners of the stick landing quite uncomfortably.

A few suggestions